Last Updated on: April 12, 2024


Elections in the Republic of India include elections for the Parliament, Rajya Sabha, Lok Sabha, the Legislative Assemblies, and numerous other Councils and local bodies.

According to the Constitution of India, elections for the Parliament and the State Legislative Assemblies should take place every five years, unless a state of emergency has been declared. Any vacancy caused by death or resignation must be filled through an election within six months of any such occurrence. The elections for the lower houses (in Parliament and in the states) use the first-past-the-post electoral system (i.e. the candidate with the majority of the votes wins the election).

Elections for one-third of the seats of the upper house of the Parliament, the Rajya Sabha, are conducted every two years. The members of the upper house are elected indirectly by the state legislative assemblies based on proportional representation. Members of the state legislative councils (in states that have an upper house) are elected indirectly through local bodies

All the elections at the central and state level are conducted by the Election Commission of India while local body elections are conducted by state election commissions. The recommendation is made by the Government and the notification for election is issued by the Election Commission.


Activities :

  1. Conduct of Parliamentary Election.
  2. Conduct of Assembly Election.
  3. Preparation of Electoral Rolls through Special Summary Revision & Intensive Summary Revision of Electoral Rolls.
  4. Issue of Certified Copy of Electoral Rolls.



          There are 3 (three) LACs in Hailakandi district viz. (1) LA-6, Hailakandi Constituency, (2) LA-7, Katlicherra Constituency and (3) LA-8, Algapur                      Constituency.     

There are 5 (five) types of forms available for inclusion, correction, transposition and overseas details of form numbers as given below:

Form – 6: for inclusion of names.

Form – 6 A: for overseas electors.

Form – 7:for deleted, shifted and death electors.

Form – 8:for correction of names of electors.

Form – 8A:for transposition of names of electors.


Address/Contact details

O/O Distict Election Officer ,Election Branch ,D.C. Office Kachari Road Hailakandi Town,P.O Hailakandi,PIN-788151